Universal Analytics

Since April 2nd 2014, Universal Analytics for Google Analytics is out of Beta, and now available to all.

Universal Analytics now gives everybody the possibility to use the new funtionnalities, such as Remarketing and Audience reporting. Universal Analytics will also allow you to better follow your visitors using numerous platforms, such as PCs, Tablets and Smartphones.

To migrate to Universal Analytics, just click on your Admin Tab in Google Analytics, and follow the instructions.

The detailled documentation to migrate to Universal Analytics is available here: https://developers.google.com/analytics/devguides/collection/upgrade/?hl=en_US

Details about Universal Analytics going oout of Beta is available on the Google Analytics Blog, on the Universal Analytics: Out of beta, into primetime post.

Google Analytics for Mobile Apps

An interesting functionality, still unknown to most marketers and developers, is the possibility to use Google Analytics features in mobile apps. Since the number of mobile apps is always on the rise, especially on iOS (for iPhone, iPad, iPod, etc.) and on Android (the Google mobile platform), it is good to know that Google Analytics can now measure the performances of these apps. Some stats offered by Google Analytics are very interesting and useful:

- Number of installations of the app
- Geographic location of the users
- Sales made from within the app
- Specific actions made in the app (such as looking at a video, accessing a feature, etc.)

All this data can be used to measure the ROI (Return on Investment) of your mobile application, and to know more on the usage of your application. These information are available in your Google Analytics account.

How ca you install Google Analytics for mobile apps? It is a little bit more complicated than just installing Google Analytics on a website. Some specific code has to be installed in your mobile app. It is all documented in the Google Analytics Software Developers Kits. The SDK for Android is here and the SDK for iOS is here

Once it is all configured, that stats are available in your Google Analytics account.

For more information on the subject, I recommend you read “Google Analytics Mobile Analytics And Reporting” , from the official Google Analytics website.

Google Analytics Filters

Not a lot of people know about Google Analytics Filters. These filters are available in the account profiles and let you exclude or modify data.

Filter

Here are a few example where it can be interesting to use filters:

  • To exclude traffic coming from employees of the company, by filtering some IP addresses.
  • To convert uppercases into lowercases, so that Google Analytics does nots differentiate between to pages with different cases. Example: products.html and Products.html
  • To only give access to some of the data to a specific user. As an example, you could create a profile that only shows stats coming from Google Adwords to the consultant/agency that is managing your Adwords account.
  • To modify the web addresses on your reports, so that these reports do not contain thousands of different web addresses, for pages that are in fact the same. As an example, if you use variables in your addresses, you might want to ignore them (to convert, let’s say, “www.example.com/message/token12345″ into “www.example.com/message “.

Be Careful! Filters do modify the data itself, so changes applied using filters are permanently done to the profile. If mistakes are made when setting these filters, removing them will later not bring back to data to its initial state. It is very important then to be very careful when setting filters. What is recommended then is to create a Master Profile, when no filters are applied, thus containing only the raw data. You will then always be able to refer to this Master profile in case of a problem.

Also note that goals are also set in the Google Analytics Profiles. You then have to make sure that the necessary goals are also created in your other profiles where they are needed.

Content Experiments with Google Analytics

In August 2012, Google removed for its product suite the Google Website Optimizer tool ton integrate its functionality into Google Analytics. This change now allows an easier integration of the product, thereby making the functionality more widely used by web agencies and web marketers.

Content Experiment
Since this integration into Google Analytics, the functionality is now called “Content Experiment”, and is available in the “Content” menu of Google Analytics, under the Experiment Tab.

And what are these content experiments from Google? Well, these experiments (or tests) let you use many versions of a page of your website to see which one converts the best for you. If your website has precise objectives, these tests can help you. As examples, these objectives, or goals could be selling more products online, increase the number of page views by the visitors, the download of a white paper, the subscription to a newsletter, etc.

As another example, if you want to increase the number of visitors who contact you using the form on your website, you can experiment with many forms to see which one is the best for you. To determine which one is performing the best, the visitors of your website will be redirected randomly on your original page or to your test pages, and Google Experiments will determine the one performing the best.

Something important that should not be neglected with these experiments is the impact on the site’s search performance. Will serving different pages change how your site ranks in Google and other search engines? For this question, Google published a post called “Website testing & Google Search” in the Google Webmaster Tools official blog. In summary, here what is recommended by Google:

  • Do not use cloaking
  • Use the rel=“canonical” link attribute
  • Only run the experiment as long as necessary
  • Use a 302 redirect, not a 301 redirect.

And of course, if you want help to configure and run Google Content Experiments on your website, do not hesitate to contact us at info@optimisationv.com or at 514-622-7073

Keyword “Not Provided” – Google Analytics

It’s been around 6 months now that Google is using SSL as the default on their search engine, for the users connected on a Google account. The article “Accessing search query data for your sites” has been added to the Official Google Webmaster Tools Blog on October 18th 2011 to announce this change.

This change this not pleased SEOs and Webmasters, since it reduces the amount of information that is available in web analytics products. Since that change, Google Analytics (and the other web analytics products) do not show the keywords that were searched by visitors connected to a Google account.

What we now see in Google Analytics is that some keywords are not available, so “Not Provided” is now displayed.

Google wrote that this change has been implemented to make the web a more secure place (“…provide a more secure online experience”). It is to be noted though that visits coming from Google Adwords still pass the “refer”. Google Adwords advertisers still have access to their keywords data, so they are not penalized by this change. Google wants to make the web more secure, but do not want to upset the advertisers that bring Google billions of dollars every year…

Other interesting information can be found on the subject in the SEOmoz video, at the “Google Hides Search Referral Data with New SSL Implementation” post.

As written above, this change is not new, but it’s effects can be felt more and more everyday. Since the launch of Google Plus, more and more users are connected on Google, reducing the list of keywords available in the analytics reports.

Complaints are still being sent at Google, and pressure applied so that they revert the situation. It remains to be seen if it will be enough to make Google change it’s mind.

Page 1 of 212»
line
Powered; by Wordpress | Installation by Synapse Internet © Copyright OptimisationV, 1110 Boul. N.P. Lapierre, Sainte-Julie, QC, J3E 1W2, 514-622-7073, South Shore of Montreal

Universal Analytics

Depuis le 2 avril 2014, Universal Analytics pour Google Analytics est maintenant sorti du monde Beta, pour être disponible pour tous!

Universal Analytics permet maintenant à tous les utilisateur de Google Analytics d’utiliser les nouvelles fonctionnalités de remarketing et les rapports d’audiences. Universal Analytics permet notamment de mieux suivre vos visiteurs, malgré le fait qu’ils utilisent de nombreuses plateformes (PC, tablette, téléphone intelligent…)

Pour migrer à Universal Anaytics, accédez tout simplement l’onglet Admin de votre compte Google Analytics.

La documentation détaillée pour effectuer la migration est disponible ici: https://developers.google.com/analytics/devguides/collection/upgrade/?hl=en_US

Les détails de la sortie du mode Beta est indiquée sur le Blog Officiel de Google Analytics ici: Universal Analytics: Out of beta, into primetime

Google Analytics pour les applications mobiles

Une fonctionnalité intéressante, mais encore méconnue par plusieurs, est la possibilité d’utiliser Google Analytics avec des applications mobiles. Les applications mobiles sont de plus en plus nombreuses, principalement sur iOS (pour les produits Apple tels que iPhone, iPad et iPod) et sur Android (La plateforme de Google). Google Analytics permet maintenant de mesurer les performances de ces applications. Certaines des statistiques offertes par Google Analytics sont très intéressantes, dont:

- Le nombre d’installations de l’application mobile
- La localisation des visiteurs
- Les achats effectués à partir de l’application
- Les actions spécifiques sur l’application (visualisation d’un vidéo, accès à une fonctionnalité, etc.)

Toutes ces données vous permettent donc de mesurer le retour sur investissement de votre application, et d’en savoir plus sur l’utilisation que font les utilisateurs de votre application. Ces informations sont accessibles directement dans votre compte Google Analytics.

Comment mettre en place Google Analytics pour les applications mobiles? C’est un peu plus compliqué que la mise en place pour un site web. Du code particulier est à installer dans vos applications. Le tout est documenté dans le « Software Developers Kits » de Google Analytics. Le SDK pour les applications iOS est ici, et le SDK pour les applications Android est ici.

Une fois la configuration terminée, les statistiques sont accessibles dans votre compte Google Analytics.

Pour plus d’information sur le sujet, je vous recommande « Google Analytics Mobile Analytics And Reporting« , du site officiel de Google Analytics.

 

Jonathan Villiard, de OptimisationV, possède la certification Google Analytics. N’hésitez-pas à nous contacter pour de l’aide concernant Google Analytics.

Expert Certification Google Analytics

Si vous cherchez un expert Google Analytics, OptimisationV est là pour vous!

Filtres dans Google Analytics

Étrangement, peu de gens connaissent la notion de filtres de Google Analytics. Ces filtres sont disponibles dans les profils des comptes, et permettent d’exclure ou de modifier les données.

Filtre Google Analytics
Voici quelques exemples où il est intéressant d’utiliser des filtres:

  • Pour exclure le trafic provenant des employés et partenaires de l’entreprise, en filtrant certaines adresses IP.
  • Pour transformer des lettres majuscules en lettre minuscules, afin que Google Analytics ne fasse pas de distinction entre 2 pages ayant des capitalisations différentes (ex: produits.html et Produits.html
  • Pour ne donner accès qu’à une partie des données à un utilisateur spécifique. Par exemple, vous pourriez créer un profil qui ne présente que les statistiques provenant de Google Adwords au consultant/agence qui s’occupe de gérer vos Campagnes Adwords.
  • Pour modifier l’adresse de pages web de vos rapports, afin que ces rapports ne contiennent pas des milliers d’adresse de pages différentes, pour des pages qui en réalité ont le même contenu. Par exemple, si vous utilisez des variables dans vos adresses, vous pouvez les ignorer. Par exemple, pour convertir la page « www.example.com/message/token12345″ en  » www.example.com/message ».

Attention! Les filtres modifient les données à la source, les changements appliqués sont donc permanents au profil associé. Si des erreurs sont faites lors de la mise en place de ces filtres, enlever les filtres ne ramène pas les données à leur valeur initiale. Ainsi, il faut évidemment être prudent lorsque des filtres sont appliqués. Aussi, il est fortement conseiller de vous créer un « Master » Profile, où aucun filtre n’est appliqué, qui contient donc les données brutes (« raw »). Ainsi, vous aurez toujours un profil pur auquel vous pourrez vous référer en cas de problème.

À noter que la mise en place de « Goals » (Objectifs) se fait aussi au niveau des profils. Assurez-vous donc que les « Goals » nécessaires soient aussi créés dans les autres profils.

Jonathan Villiard, de OptimisationV, possède la certification Google Analytics – Certificat (PDF).

Expert Certification Google Analytics

Si vous cherchez de l’aide avec Google Analytics, OptimisationV est là pour vous!

Des Tests de contenu grâce à Google Analytics.

En août 2012, Google a enlevé de sa suite de produits l’outil « Google Website Optimizer » (Optimisateur de Site Google) pour l’intégrer à Google Analytics. Ce changement permet maintenant une utilisation plus simple du produit, qui en fera probablement un outil utilisé par une plus grande quantité d’agences et de personnes dans l’industrie du marketing web.

Experiments Google Analytics

Depuis cette intégration dans Google Analytics, la fonctionnalité s’appelle maintenant « Test de contenu », et est accessible dans le menu « Contenu » de Google Analytics, sous l’onglet « Tests » (ou « Experiments » en anglais)

Test Contenu Pages Google

Et que sont ces tests de contenus de Google? Et bien ces tests vous permettent de mettre en place plusieurs versions d’une page de votre site, afin de voir laquelle vous permet d’atteindre vos objectifs, ou d’augmenter vos conversions. Si votre site web d’entreprise a des objectifs bien définis, ces tests peuvent vous aider. Selon les entreprises, ces objectifs peuvent être la vente de plus de produits en ligne, une augmentation du nombre de pages vues par les visiteurs, le téléchargement d’un « White Paper », l’inscription à une liste de diffusion (« newsletter »), etc.

Test Contenu Google Analytics

Par exemple, si vous désirez augmenter la quantité de visiteurs qui vous contactent à l’aide d’un formulaire, vous pouvez tester différents formulaires afin de voir lequel performera le mieux. Pour déterminer quel formulaire est le plus performant, les visiteurs seront dirigés aléatoirement sur votre page originale et sur vos pages de tests, et pourra déterminer le formulaire gagnant.

En juin, Google a aussi mis en ligne un vidéo (anglais seulement) pour présenter la fonctionnalité:

Un point important, qui n’est pas à négliger, est l’impact que ces test peuvent avoir au niveau SEO (Optimisation pour les moteurs de recherche). À cet effet, Google a oublié un article appelé « Website testing & Google Search » sur le blog officiel de Google Webmaster Tools. En résumé, Google recommande les points suivants:

  • Ne pas faire de « cloaking » (diriger les robots des moteurs de recherche ailleurs que les visiteurs)
  • Utiliser l’attribut rel= »canonical »
  • Utiliser des redirections 302, et non des 301
  • Ne laisser en place les tests que pour le temps nécessaire.

Et bien sûr, si vous voulez de l’aide pour la mise en place de ces tests sur votre site, n’hésitez-pas à nous contacter à info@OptimisationV.com ou au 514-622-7073.

Mots-Clés « Not Provided » – Web Analytique

Cela fait maintenant près de 6 mois que Google a mis en place la version sécurisée (SSL) par défaut pour leur moteur de recherche pour les utilisateurs connectés à Google. L’article « Accessing search query data for your sites » a été mis en ligne le 18 octobre 2011 pour annoncer le changement sur le Blog Officiel de Google Webmaster Central.

Ce changement a soulevé la grogne des Webmasters et SEO, puisque ce changement diminue la quantité d’information disponible dans les outils de web analytique. Depuis cette mise en place donc, Google Analytics (et les autre produits d’analytique web) ne présentent plus la recherche qui a été faite par les visiteurs qui sont connectés à un compte Google.

Concrètement, cela fait en sorte qu’un certain nombre de mots-clés ne sont plus disponibles dans Google Analytics, mais sont remplacé par « Not Provided ».

Not Provided

Ce changement a été apporté afin de rendre le web plus sécuritaire (« …provide a more secure online experience »). À noter que les visites provenant de Google Adwords passent encore le « refer », les annonceurs ont donc encore accès aux mots-clés ayant générés les visites. 2 poids 2 mesures donc. Google veut donc « sécuriser » le web, mais quand même pas au détriment des annonceurs, ceux qui leurs donnent leurs milliards annuellement…

D’autres informations intéressante sur le sujet ont été écrit par Charles-David Racine de Adviso, à l’article « Explication du (not provided) dans les rapports Google Analytics – Résultats naturels ».

Comme indiqué précédemment, ce changement n’est pas nouveau, mais les impacts se font de plus en plus sentir. Malgré le succès mitigé de Google Plus, de plus en plus de gens sont connectés à un compte Google, ce qui fait en sorte que de plus en plus de mots-clés ne sont pas comptabilisés.

Des pressions sont faites sur Google afin de fournir à nouveau ces mots-clés, mais cela reste à voir si elles seront suffisantes pour faire changer de cap le géant.

Page 1 of 212»
line
Site web propulsé par Wordpress | Installation par Synapse Internet © Copyright OptimisationV, 1110 Boul. N.P. Lapierre, Sainte-Julie, QC, J3E 1W2, 514-622-7073, Rive-Sud de Montréal